Blue Pin of Courage

It is Child Abuse Prevention Month. Philly shares her personal story and advocacy, “All of our children of all races and backgrounds, parent-less children, unaccompanied minors coming across our borders, foster children, children with special needs, and homeless teens need society’s attention.”

Finicky Philly

I wore a blue pin this week and had someone approach me, “Is that for Autism awareness?” I felt almost bad saying no, but my blue this month is for child abuse prevention month. Child abuse kills 5 children in the US a day. A DAY. Thousands of other victims a day go on living; their young lives physically, mentally, and socially altered.

Child abuse is rampant and knows no ethnic or economical boundary. More often than not, a trusted caregiver or parent is the child’s abuser. The truth is not everyone loves their children and not everyone protects and cares for their children. As a mother, this is hard to accept.

I live mostly for my daughter, every day I wake up thankful I have her. I spend my nights worrying about her, my decisions center around her needs. But, not everyone feels this sense toward even their own…

View original post 1,286 more words

Leave a Reply

