Breaking Chains

Thorough and thoughtful post on the challenge of marrying the linear and creative parts of writing, and I would add, life. Limiting ourselves to one or the other is poison. Dane writes, “I’m a linear person. I’m process-oriented. I want the instructions, step by step, from A to Z. I want to start at the beginning – a very good place to start – and go through to the end. Or to completion. Or to result. I want to go from the first step to the final step, in order, and achieve desired result. As a writer, that’s poison.”

En*DANE*gered

As a reader, I pick up a book, I open it and start reading at page one. I continue reading until the story is complete at “The End,” and put the book down. Because, you know…it’s over.

As a writer, that’s poison.

I’m a linear person. I’m process-oriented. I want the instructions, step by step, from A to Z. I want to start at the beginning – a very good place to start – and go through to the end. Or to completion. Or to result. I want to go from the first step to the final step, in order, and achieve desired result.

As a writer, that’s poison.

The creative portion of our minds – or, if you will, the right-brain, or right side of our brain, which has been branded as the part from which creative and artistic aspects flow – does not work in a linear fashion…

View original post 1,046 more words

2 thoughts on “Breaking Chains

    • Angie Mc April 16, 2015 / 6:34 pm

      You’re welcome, Dane. Your striving, family, and writing are inspiring.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

