The Old House Whispers

A photo dense, word rich post. Barbara writes, “And what I saw just broke my heart- a grand old dame falling to ruin right in front of our eyes.”

Silver in the Barn

IMG_20140302_170553

The old house had long been a mystery to me. I discovered it while walking in a state-owned wildlife refuge just around the corner from my own old house. I turned a corner and there it sat, overgrown with vines and saplings and peering out at me accusingly from those broken windows.

It has been in my imagination ever since. One cold winter day, I approached the house to take a few pictures. The sudden – and terrifying – appearance of a vulture which flew out of a second-story window with a tremendous flapping of wings only added to the sense of foreboding the house evoked in me….and to my heart rate.

Funny how the change in seasons and a bright blue sky can do so much to change one’s perception of a thing. The house didn’t seem nearly so sinister in the warm sunshine of my next visit last spring.

IMG_20140308_200636

I had trekked out to the old…

View original post 975 more words

Leave a Reply

